Round 2 Review

The National Series has returned to South Australia for Round 2 as Formula Vee SA welcomes all the interstate teams who have made their way to Tailem Bend. Wet and windy conditions weren’t enough to dampen enthusiasm as the cars took to the track for a challenging practice session.

Waiting for the green flag before qualifying – Photo Krystle Newton

The weather improved slightly before a red-flag interrupted qualifying session, times rapidly fell as the track evolved and a dry line started to form. Dylan Thomas took pole position in the CXC Global/CGR Stinger iX, ahead of Simon Pace and Michael Kinsella. The 1200cc fastest qualifiers were Lindsay Murfett, Richerd Gray and Franz Esterbauer.

Race 1 was won on a drying track by Dylan Thomas by 2.8 seconds in what would prove to be the biggest winning margin of the weekend. Joel Oliver was first SA car to the flag, followed by Adam Newton and Sean Grimmond.

The weather cleared overnight and conditions were good for the Ben Rebbeck Memorial race. Michael Kinsella levels the score for the round finishing ahead of Dylan Thomas by 0.283 seconds. Joel Oliver retired on lap 2 of the race with Adam Newton left to claim victory in the SA series with a close battle between Peter Hood and Sean Grimmond ending up with the cars side by side across the finish line with Hood taking second by 0.015 seconds.

2019 Ben Rebbeck Memorial – Sean Grimmond – Photo Krystle Newton

The Ben Rebbeck Memorial Trophy, awarded for sportsmanship and driver skill as decided by commentator Mark Nancarrow, was won by Sean Grimmond

Race 3 was won by 0.025 seconds by Dylan Thomas which was enough to secure the top step on the podium for the round, with the top 3 cars separated by less than a tenth of a second. The final results for the National round are Dylan Thomas first, followed by Michael Kinsella and Simon Pace. The SA race was won by Adam Newton, while Joel Oliver stormed through the field for second, third was taken by Sean Grimmond by 7 tenths over Peter Hood after another entertaining race with overtaking on every lap.

Race 4 Onboard with Joel Oliver

Race 4 was not counted for the National series but the battle for 3rd on the podium for SA cars was still being closely fought with just 1 point separating Grimmond and Hood and with safety car setting up a 2 lap sprint to the end, the weekend was set for an exciting finish until an electrical failure on Sean Grimmond’s Merlin PE08 left him on the side of the road to watch the finish which saw Joel Oliver first, Adam Newton second and Peter Hood third. The outright winner was Wade McLean.

1600cc Class

  1. Adam Newton – Adelaide Auto Air – Saber 02
  2. Joel Oliver – Phoenix Lining Services – Jacer V2K
  3. Peter Hood – Direct Tyre & Auto Service – Jacer V2K

1200cc Class

  1. Matthew Bialek – Spectre
  2. Colin Thomas – Elfin NG
  3. Jay Thompson – Mannum Stock and Pet Supply – Spectre

The next round will be on August 3rd and 4th at Mallala Motorsport Park.

SA 1600cc Round 2 Podium – Adam Newton, Joel Oliver and Peter Hood – Photo Krystle Newton
SA 1200cc Round 2 Podium – Matthew Bialek, Colin Thomas and Jay Thompson – Photo Krystle Newton