Round 1 Mallala

Mallala Motor Sport Park has once again hosted the first round of the SA State Championship. Cold, wet and windy conditions greeted the drivers when they took to the track for a qualifying session with many spins and off track excursions before the red flag interrupted the session. Once they were under way again Daniel Westcott took pole position on his return to racing, ahead of Adam Newton and Ben Forgan.

The rain cleared and slowly the track began to dry before racing started for the 2021 season. The Adelaide Auto Air entry driven by Adam Newton found it’s familar place at the front of the field with a close fight behind between Adam Slattery and Ben Forgan. Their battle would continue throughout the day with the two trading places on the podium. Daniel Westcott took 4th place in each of the three races. Matthew Bialek, Sean Grimmond and Hayden Slattery could hardly be separated all weekend with barely a second between the cars, the Stinger 03 of Bialek would eventually finish at the front of the group for the weekend after managing to break the tow and running with Daniel Westcott in the final race.

The 1200cc round victory was taken by Nathan Clifton followed by Andrew Mutch and Frank Chessell. Rhys Rolland made a solid debut bringing the car home in 4th edging closer to the front pack all weekend.